/Nix elected new mayor of Montevallo
Graphic by Anna Grace Askelson

Nix elected new mayor of Montevallo

Graphic by Anna Grace Askelson

The citizens of Montevallo elected a new mayor and city council members on Aug. 25.  

In the mayoral race, Russell “Rusty” Nix received 678 votes (51.9%) defeating Joyce Jones who received 629 votes (48.1%), according to the uncertified election results. Nix has served in the past as the District 1 council member. 

Each of the City Council’s district seats will also feature new faces the next four years. 

In the District 1 race, David King received 243 votes (67%) to defeat Tonia Mayton, who received 118 votes (33%).  

In the District 2 race, Lelia Horton Mitchell received 98 votes (57.6%) to defeat Linda Fields McCray, who received 72 votes (42.3%). 

In the District 3 race, Kenneth Dukes received 79 votes (55.2%) to defeat Brian K. Bolton, who received 64 votes (44.7%).  

In the District 4, Sonya Swords received 135 votes (57.3%) to defeat incumbent Jason Peterson, who received 99 votes (42.6%). 

In the District 5, Martha Eisenberg received 213 votes (57.2%) to defeat incumbent Arthur Herbert, who received 159 votes (42.7%). 

+ posts

Ariel Hall is a writer for The Alabamian. She is a senior communication studies major and enjoys reading and photography in her free time. Previously, Zoe has acted as editor in chief, lifestyles editor and advice columnist.