/Swearing in of new City Council
City Council in gold letters on purple backgroundGraphic by Bell Jackson

Swearing in of new City Council

The Montevallo City Council met on Tuesday, Nov. 2, at 6 p.m. to induct the newly elected members of the city council. This included the induction of new mayor, Rusty Nix, who was elected in the municipal elections held on Aug. 25. 

In addition to Nix being sworn in as mayor, a number of new council members were sworn in as well. Also sworn in were David King, District 1; Leila Mitchell, District 2; Kenneth Dukes, District 3; Sonya Swords, District 4; and Martha Ann Eisenberg, District 5. King was also sworn into the role of Mayor Pro Tempore, meaning he would act as mayor in Nix’s absence.  

Following the induction of new council members, Nix pointed out that he and two other council members are Montevallo High School alumni; remarking, “…you’re talking about hometown roots, that’s hometown there.” 

The council also passed an ordinance amending Article 3, Sections 2-50 and 2-53 of the Montevallo Municipal Code. This amendment established that council meetings would be held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6 p.m., following a council work session at 5:30 p.m. It also established the order of business that all city council meetings would follow. All other sections of Article 3 remained unchanged and in effect. 

Additionally, the council also voted to appoint new council members to committee positions.  

King, Mitchell and Eisenberg were appointed to the Public Health and Safety Committee, with King serving as chair.  

Dukes, Eisenberg and Mitchell were appointed to the Sustainability Committee, with Dukes serving as chair.  

Eisenberg, Swords and King were appointed to the Recreation, Preservation and Community Development Committee, with Eisenberg serving as chair.  

Mitchell, Dukes and Swords were appointed to the Education, Arts and Outreach Committee, with Mitchell serving as chair.  

Swords, King and Dukes were appointed to the Finance, Economic Development and Tourism Committee, with Swords serving as chair. 

New council members were also appointed to various council boards. Mitchell and Swords were appointed to the Water and Sewage Board. Dukes was appointed to the Historical Commission. Eisenberg was appointed to the Arbor and Beautification Board. King was appointed to the Planning Commission. Mitchell was appointed to the Sister City Commission. 

Municipal officers were appointed during the meeting, as well. Jeremy Littleton was reappointed as Chief of Police, Steve Gilbert was appointed as Clerk and Treasurer, Mark Wilson was appointed as Municipal Prosecutor and Levy Walker was appointed as public defender. 

The next City Council meeting will be held Monday, Nov. 9, at 6 p.m. The meeting will be livestreamed on the city’s Facebook page. Citizens may also attend the meeting in person at City Hall, however there will be limited seating and social distancing protocols put in place. 

+ posts

Cady Inabinett is the editor in chief of The Alabamian. She’s majoring in English and double-minoring in political science and peace and justice studies. She enjoys reading, watching movies, caring for houseplants and generally just being pretentious in her free time.